Customer reviews for TXU Energy Free Weekends

TXU Energy Free Weekends

With TXU Energy Free Weekends, get your weekend electricity completely free – all weekend, every weekend.
Reviews Summary:
2.788 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
11
1 Star
23
29 out of 6545%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Review 21 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
cool hand luke
From:Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

free weekends

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
txu,free weekends is awsome,i do all my laundry,most of the weeks cooking and baking,its a real big savings,i look forward to a long relation ship with txu
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
emart57
From:San Benito, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:1000-2000 kWh
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Free energy weekends

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Ease of billing: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I plan allows me to plan household tasks, and family get togethers for the weekends to really take advantage of the savings..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Ron
From:Arlington, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No savings

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The rate for peak KWHs is higher than projected to me over the phone. I am not saving any dollars on my bill and TXU gets the benefit of system load balancing. I just have to feel good that it is right thing to do technically.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
ohernandez11
From:Manor,TX
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To me this product has great features

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Ease of billing: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This plan works great for me. I work monday through friday I usually get home like around 7 in the evening i cook everyday but I feel like i dont waste to much energy. I usually do my laundry on the weekends which is great because i have free energy. I take advantage of it since the weekends is when i spend the most time at home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Bluefish
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Heavy Price Increase!!!!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Ease of billing: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After 1st year price increased 30%. TXU offers you an average price for each month telling you'll you'll spread the cost of you bill over 12 months instead of having higher bills in the summer months. The only thing I've noticed was I paying a higher bill every month from the previous year. Time to find a new provider for service
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
temeculatim
From:Eustace, TX 75124, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:500-1000 kWh
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

False Weekly Readings

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The program of free weekends appears to be working for our household. However TXU sends us weekly updates on our usage based on the kilowatts times rate. This new rate is never reflected in the correct amount. The update does not include the free weekend rate. This makes the prediction of how much we will pay per week somewhat confusing. Thanks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Tex
Age:45 to 54
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extremelytremely confusing price structure

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Singning up for a two year service contract was the worst decision I have made. There is no benefit over a month to month plan.
The pricing plan is so confusingthat I have no clue what I am paying power kilowatt hour. You pay a higher price during the week and then get the weekend free? Not really free when you think about it.I am an energy miser all the time, so the higher weekday prices were not advantageous.
The pricing scheme makes no sense either. There is an energy price,a kilowatt price, and some made up price based on different energy usage levels.
I don't understand why I can't just pay one price with no confusing gimmicks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Bad TXU experience
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of time:more than 12 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My TXU experience with "free weekends" hasn't been good

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I use less electricity than my prior plan, but pay more at the end of the month. The estimates provided per kwh already include assumptions about how much will be saved, and that three off my calculations dramatically. In addition I've also noticed that the dashboard works less reliably...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
wrlokken
From:Odessa, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:500-1000 kWh
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like having free week-ends

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because I am home on weekends and extra projects, doing laundry, ect.. happens on weekend it is a good deal. it is also nice that since we have switched to free week-ends the weather has been very nice so we have not had to use the air conditioner. But it has made it nice to work out side. (lol)
Thank you for the good value we get.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
t
From:tx
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not a useful plan

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
None of the plans are a good value or really work for us when we are home to use them
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
betty
From:texas
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:500-1000 kWh
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bill to high, to close to other bills

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I can not see a change in my bill at all, it seem to me that everything have move to the week day. Sø the bill look like it has always look. No changes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
TC45
From:Texas
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recommend to people at home on weekends.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would have been better served with free nights , but did not know that service existed untill I had already signed up with free weekends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Trixie22
From:Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:500-1000 kWh
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been great for me.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been with TXU for years and wouldn't consider any other.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Kotch 11
From:Lake Dallas, TX
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:1000-2000 kWh
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weekday rate too high

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was under the impression my weekday rate would be considerably lower than it is. I won't renew this plan. I may have to change from TXU because other reliable companies are so much cheaper, but go back to DPL, TPL, etc., so haven't changed
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
LauraC
From:Forney Texas
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:500-1000 kWh
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great service!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service. Just switched to Free Weekends. Hope to see a difference in my bills!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Jen
From:Irving Texas
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:more than 2000 kWh
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Issues

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My last bill was nearly 250$ even with free weeks that's seems extremely high for the apartment I live in! I'm stuck in a yearly contract and have minimal options.......if someone can help to lower my bill that would be great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
coyotekoty
From:Bedford, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of time:0-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freedom to do anything without worry on the weekends.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I was choosing an electrical company, I was conflicted until I saw the billboard advertsing free nights or weekends. After that it the question became should i get free nights or weekends?
I chose the weekends because thats when I am busiest around the house. It gave me reedom to do anything without worry. It has saved me and I recommend it every time I hear people shopping for electricity.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
rattrav
From:Round Rock, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:500-1000 kWh
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Billing is easy, and statements are informative

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Billing is easy, and statements are informative. Would like to see cheaper, but doesnt everyone?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
Demger
From:Dallas
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:1000-2000 kWh
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very happy with savings.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The weekend is when I run everything. Washer, dryer, tv, vacuum, a/c. So it only made sense to go for the free weekends. After my first billing cycle I have already seen my bill lower. Time will tell if the tread continues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for TXU Energy Free Weekends
G
From:TX
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of time:0-6 months
Average electricity usage each month:1000-2000 kWh
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great on weekends

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Ease of billing: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good when I get charged for not being home and not usong any of my energy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>